_Between my own crazy thoughts and conversations with friends and colleagues, I've decided I am going to do a small series of blog posts reflecting on my job search.  The topics may be covering a wide range.  The posts may help #sagrads that are currently searching or it could just turn into a fun project a few people read.  It gives me the opportunity to look back on a crazy ride and learn from all of the ups and downs.

The following passage was written in a down period of my search.  I was working a temporary position at my undergraduate institution as an admissions adviser (this was a positive experience that helped to continue to build by skills set) while continuing my search.  I was in between interviews and had not heard anything from any applications in a week or two.  Right after this post, I received a few requests for phone/on-campus interviews.  It was one of the phone/on-campus interviews which led to a job offer a few months later.  So keep in mind, the road may seem long (extremely long), but if you keep pushing through, you never know what could occur next.  My walls are definitely covered in rejection letters, but you tend to push that out of your mind when you find the fit for you.

October 18, 2011   10:53 PM
"Remain calm. Everything happens for a reason. While those pieces of advice are completely true, it's still difficult not to panic. I'm attempting to look at this point in my job search as a reevaluation period. So I'm stopping and smelling the roses. I'm reminding myself of @Mallorybower's most recent blog post. She essentially calls us on our bullshit of never taking time for ourselves. So I sit. And I type. And I plan. And I scheme. And I dream. The dream right now is simple-find a job that's a good fit. Nothing too fancy. One step at a time. There are bigger dreams, and new paths to discover. And a good foundation is vital. God knows enough tears have been shed, enough questions asked, and enough answers never given. But to balance that all out, there have been amazing individuals supporting me along the way. They range from crazy rants on Gchat, YouTube videos of just keep swimming, dms/emails that make me laugh and cry, and so much more. I've heard many times that a person is partially shaped by the people they surround themselves with. I thank God every day for the people in my life. The ones 10 minutes down the road to the ones who are a 3-14 hour car ride away. Because they all have made a difference.

I was told in class that I would have enough rejections letters to wallpaper a room (or more). I'm ready to receive the last letter that will get framed and put all the rest to shame. That day will come (and hopefully isn't that far off).  One day at a time.

Its not you, it's them-sounds like a bad date. I've seen posts comparing the job search to dating. Complicated. Awesome."
2/7/2012 04:01:10 pm

A job look for results is a device that makes the job look for process relatively easy. These applications have a wide type of job details of various job areas such as technological innovation, insurance, cultural work, lawful and coaching. A job look for results works similar to The search engines. It shoots the inquiries over the internet and gets the best possible suits.

Reply
4/29/2012 06:02:48 pm

The blog is too good and informative where i like to discuss about this in my blog thanks for sharing the info. Thanks and keep up your site development.

Reply
5/28/2012 09:18:44 pm

http://www.louisvuittonoutletsalestore.net

Reply
5/30/2012 12:45:22 pm

This blog is fantastic,you’re actually a good webmaster. you’ve performed a great process on this topic!I like what you wrote, very grateful for you sharing.

Reply
5/30/2012 12:46:56 pm

Expect you to have a better article to share.Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful article.

Reply
6/22/2012 01:14:20 pm

Was just bored and thought I would post to say hello

Reply
7/17/2012 08:28:47 am

Spot lets start function on this write-up, I actually believe this remarkable website requirements additional consideration. I�ll much more likely be once once more you just read additional, thank you that info.

Reply
7/23/2012 10:44:12 am

Thank you for an excellent account of both the performance and the talk-back session.

Reply
7/23/2012 10:45:43 am

This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out and let you know I

Reply
7/23/2012 10:47:04 am

Thanks for all your efforts that you have put in this. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful article.

Reply
7/31/2012 01:39:23 pm

is high and heavy charge the fullest and fairest

Reply
7/31/2012 01:40:14 pm

I read your article in my carelesslly. I am so happy.and thank you for your efforts.

Reply
8/20/2012 12:54:50 pm


your blog article is wonderful.keep writing. -DEMI

Reply
10/8/2012 10:32:16 pm

Thank you for posting.Waiting for updating.

Reply
11/6/2012 08:54:14 am

Cheap Foamposites

Reply
11/6/2012 08:54:28 am

Belstaff

Reply
3/22/2013 09:50:19 pm

As a famous British jewelry accessories agent <a href="http://www.linksoflondoncharmsoutletsale.co.uk/">Links of London</a>, in 2012 autumn and winter is approaching, how can low-key acting on it? <a href="http://www.linksoflondoncharmsoutletsale.co.uk/">Links Of London Charms</a> also recently released the 2012 Winter ad large, <a href="http://www.linksoflondoncharmsoutletsale.co.uk/">Links Of London Outlet</a> gorgeous colors and scenery are enough captured the hearts of you beautymen and women, the most important jewelry accessories shiny people do not want to leave, <a href="http://www.linksoflondoncharmsoutletsale.co.uk/">Links Of London Sale</a> a picture of the ad, the jewelery transform dizzying. Whether the heart is for the hearts of his / her contemplating it?

Reply
5/6/2013 10:22:36 pm

I am glad that i have found your page.The site about job search was toatlly worth reading. The article was really useful for job seekers like me. I appreciate the author who has taken the effort to update something like this. I have book marked your site for further reference. Keep up the good works. Regard

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Archives

    January 2013
    May 2012
    April 2012
    January 2012
    December 2011
    May 2011
    October 2010

    Categories

    All

    View my profile on LinkedIn